html hit counter
Home Sports FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

by Munmun Akhter
5/5 - (1 vote)

About FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 is set to be the 22nd race of the FIFA World Cup,┬áthe four-year International Men’s Football Championship, competed by national teams from FIFA member associations. It is scheduled to be held in Qatar from November 21 to December 18, 2022 It will be the first World Cup to be held in the Arab world and the second to be held entirely in Asia since the 2002 tournament. In South Korea and Japan.

Due to the intense summer heat in Qatar, the FIFA World Cup will be held from late November to mid-December, the first tournament not to be held in May, June or July; It will be played in less than 28 days. The first match of the tournament will be between Senegal and the Netherlands at Dohar Al Thumama Stadium. The final is scheduled for December 18, 2022, which is also Qatar’s national day. The current World Cup champion is France.

Credential of FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

In May 2011, allegations of corruption among senior FIFA officials raised questions about the legitimacy of the FIFA World Cup in Qatar. Allegations of corruption have surfaced over how Qatar won the right to host the event. An internal FIFA investigation and report has cleared Qatar of any wrongdoing, but chief investigator Michael J. Garcia described the FIFA report on his investigation as “numerous materially incomplete and misrepresentations”.

On May 27, 2015, Swiss federal prosecutors opened an investigation into corruption and money laundering related to the 2018 and 2022 World Cup bids. On 6 August 2018, former FIFA president Sepp Blatter claimed that Qatar had used “black ops”, suggesting that the bid committee had cheated to win the hosting rights.

In addition, Qatar has come under fire for its treatment of foreign workers involved in the run-up to the World Cup, with Amnesty International calling it “forced labor” and saying hundreds or thousands of migrant workers have died as a result of human rights abuses, and inhumane and inhumane conditions. An investigation by the Guardian newspaper claims that many workers have been deprived of food and water, stripped of their identity cards and not paid on time or at all, making some of them effective slaves.

The Guardian estimates that up to 4,000 workers could die from insecurity and other causes by the time the competition is held. Between 2015 and 2021, the Qatari government adopted new labor reforms to improve working conditions, including the removal of the minimum wage and the kafala system for all workers. Amnesty International called the measures “an important step towards the protection of migrant workers.”

On 20 May 2020, Hassan al-Thawedi, Secretary-General of the World Cup Organizing Committee, raised concerns that the ongoing COVID-19 epidemic could cause the global economy to witness a period of recession that would turn around and affect the travel capacity of football fans. And to participate in the celebrations of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Selection History of FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

The bidding process for the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cups began in January 2009 and the national associations had until February 2, 2009, to register their interests. Initially, eleven bids were made for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, but Mexico later withdrew from the process and the Indonesian bid was rejected by FIFA in February 2010 for failing to submit a letter of guarantee from the Indonesian government to support the Indonesian Football Association. Auction. Indonesian officials did not cancel a bid for the 2026 FIFA World Cup until Qatar was awarded the 2022 tournament. The 2018 tournament and consequently the UEFA countries disqualified the 2022 bid

In the end, there were five bids for the 2022 FIFA World Cup: Australia, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, and the United States. A 22-member FIFA executive committee was convened in Zurich on 2 December 2010 to select the organizers of both tournaments. Two members of FIFA’s executive committee have been fired ahead of the vote over allegations of vote-rigging. The decision to host the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, which was classified as a “high-performance risk”, has drawn criticism from media commentators. Many have criticized it as part of the FIFA corruption scandal.

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 Qualification

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

FIFA’s six continental confederations host their own qualifying competitions. All FIFA member organizations, of which there are currently 211, were eligible for entry. As host, Qatar automatically qualifies for the tournament. However, the AFC forced Qatar to participate in the Asian qualifiers as the first two rounds also served as qualifying for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup. As the Qataris reached the finals as the winners in their group, Lebanon, the fifth-best second-placed team, advanced instead.

Current World Cup champions France also went through the qualifying round naturally. St. Lucia initially qualified but withdrew from it before their first match. North Korea has withdrawn from the qualifying round due to security concerns over the Kovid-19 epidemic. American Samoa and Samoa both withdrew before the OFC draw. Tonga withdraws the 2022 Hunga Tonga-Hunga Hapai after the eruption and tsunami. Due to the outbreak of COVID-19 in their squads, Vanuatu and Cook Islands have also withdrawn.

As of March 31, 2022, 29 countries have qualified for the finals, of which 22 competed in the previous tournament in 2018. Qatar are the only team to have made their FIFA World Cup debut, making their debut in the tournament as the first host after Italy. In 1934. As a result, the 2022 tournament is the first World Cup where no qualifying team has made their debut. The Netherlands, Ecuador, Ghana, Cameroon and the United States are back in the tournament after missing the 2018 tournament. Canada returns after 36 years, their only previous appearance being in 1986.

Italy, the four-time champions and winners of UEFA Euro 2020, have failed to qualify for the second World Cup in a row for the first time in their history, losing to Northern Macedonia in the qualifying play-off semifinals. The Italians were the only exes that the champions failed to qualify. Russia, the host of the previous World Cup, was disqualified from the competition due to Russia’s attack on Ukraine.

Chile, the winners of the 2015 and 2016 Copa America, just like Italy, have failed to qualify for the second time in a row. Nigeria have moved away from Ghana in the CAF final play-off round, qualifying for the previous three World Cups and six of the last seven. Teams that qualified for the 2018 World Cup, such as Egypt, Panama, Colombia, Iceland and Sweden, also failed to qualify for the 2022 tournament.

Learn More

You may also like


Leave a Comment

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.